Hogan Lovells wins IP Team of the Year at 2018 The Lawyer Awards: The firm is also commended for its litigation, real estate and pro bono work

Hogan Lovells is delighted to announce that the firm has been named as Intellectual Property Team of the Year at the inaugural 2018 The Lawyer Awards.

The award was for the firm's role in the landmark patent dispute Actavis v Eli Lilly case. The long running and multi-jurisdictional dispute made it all the way to the Supreme Court, which found for Lilly under every point being considered – resulting in a ruling stating that Actavis' products infringe Lilly's patents in the UK, France, Italy and Spain. The Hogan Lovells IP team was led by London partners Daniel Brook and Stephen Bennett, with London lawyer Emma Fulton and support from Hogan Lovells' French, Dutch, German and Italian patents teams. 

The firm was also highly commended and commended in three other categories: 

  • Highly Commended: Litigation Team of the Year – DIA v Pugachev, a landmark case seeking to trace and recover approximately US$1bn that Sergei Pugachev extracted from Mezhprombank. Led by Michael Roberts and Rebecca Wales.
  • Commended: Real Estate Team of the Year – representing AFC Wimbledon in their battle to return the football team's stadium to their spiritual home at Plough Lane. Led by Daniel Norris.
  • Commended: Pro Bono Initiative of the Year – providing pro bono legal advice to victims of terrorism, including representing victims and their families at Coroner's inquests. Led by Rebecca Wales, Ivan Shiu, Helen Boniface and Gary Cassidy.

The firm was shortlisted in two other categories (six categories in total):   

  • Finance Team of the Year – advising the UK Government on the first sale of income contingent repayment student loans by the Department for Education (DfE). Led by Julian Craughan. 
  • Funds Team of the Year – advising Amber Infrastructure Group on managing part of the UK government's newly created Digital Infrastructure Investment Fund (DIIF).  Led by Erik Jamieson and Jeremy Pickles.

The full list of winners can be found on The Lawyer website.

Back To Listing