We use cookies to deliver our online services. Details of the cookies we use and instructions on how to disable them are set out in our Cookies Policy. By using this website you agree to our use of cookies. To close this message click close.

Energy Team Shortlisted for Petroleum Economist Awards 2014


Our Energy and Natural Resources Group (ENRG) has been shortlisted in the 'Energy Advisory Firm Of The Year' category at the re-launched Petroleum Economist Awards.

Our entry focused on our work as project counsel for the Shah Deniz Consortium on the US$45 Billion Shah Deniz project, which alone puts us in a position few firms could match. However, it also highlighted other major LNG/gas mandates including acting for Dominion Resources on all aspects of its LNG export project at Cove Point, and advising JKC Australia LNG on the EPC contract for onshore facilities of the US$34 Billion Ichthys LNG Project.

In addition to the technical expertise of the Shah Deniz project, our work on it has set us apart from our competitors because the project is enormous in both scale and complexity, involving one of the longest gas value chains in the world (about 3,500 km); requiring the effective coordination of four inter-related projects across seven jurisdictions; and involving re-organisations and re-working of corporate governance at all levels of the value chain.

The Shah Deniz project will fundamentally change the Energy map of Europe, connecting Caspian gas supplies for the first time with European gas markets. The Project is of great strategic importance for both Azerbaijan and the European Union, representing for Azerbaijan a quantum leap forward in monetising its gas reserves and using the proceeds to develop its economy; and for the EU an opportunity to increase and diversify gas supplies and reduce dependence on Russian and Algerian gas imports.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in London on 10 September. Petroleum Economist has appointed a panel of independent experts, drawn from across the international energy industry, to judge the awards, including:

•Lord John Browne, Baron Browne of Madingley, former Chief Executive of BP
•Abdalla El-Badri, Secretary General, OPEC
•Lord Cullen of Whitekirk, KT
•Torstein Indrebø, Secretary General, International Gas Union


Loading data