

National Association of Women Lawyers

For Immediate Release August 1, 2017

For further information contact:

Caitlin Kepple
312.988.6186
ckepple@nawl.org

## NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF WOMEN LAWYERS ANNOUNCES 2017-2018 OFFICERS AND BOARD

Chicago – The National Association of Women Lawyers ("NAWL") is pleased to announce the installation of Angela Beranek Brandt as President of the Association for the 2017-2018 year. Ms. Brandt, Partner at Larson · King LLP, has been a distinguished member of NAWL's Board of Directors for over five years. She brings great depth and understanding about issues related to women in the profession.

"I'd like to thank my predecessor, Leslie Richards-Yellen, for her extraordinary service and can't say enough about her commitment to NAWL," Ms. Brandt said. "I look forward to continuing to expand our organization's reach, growing our membership, building the pipeline for the future, and empowering women lawyers," Ms. Brandt continued.

"It was an honor to have had the opportunity to work with others to strengthen NAWL's mission of advancing women under the law," Ms. Richards-Yellen said of her tenure as NAWL President. "Working with women united by the goal of achieving gender equality has been very meaningful," she said. Of Ms. Richards-Yellen's many accomplishments as NAWL President, her most important contribution was to make the organization more diverse – from Board to membership.

Newly-elected officers also announced at NAWL's Annual Awards Luncheon at the Grand Hyatt New York include: Sarretta C. McDonough of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP, President-Elect; Kristin D. Sostowski of Gibbons P.C., Vice President; Karen S. Morris of USAA, Treasurer; Jennifer A. Champlin of Walmart, Secretary; Suzette Recinos of PepsiCo, Assistant Secretary; and Leslie Richards-Yellen of Hogan Lovells US LLP, Immediate Past President.

Joining continuing Board members-at-large, three new Board members were also installed, all of whom have celebrated histories as leaders and innovators within NAWL and in the legal field. The new Board members are: Wendy Wen Yun Chang of Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP; Robin Smith of LEGO Systems, Inc.; and Eva M. Spahn of Greenberg Traurig LLP. They join the following continuing members of the Board: Peggy Steif Abram of Faegre Baker Daniels LLP; DeAnna D. Allen of Cooley LLP; Diane E. Ambler of K&L Gates LLP; Kristin L. Bauer of Jackson Lewis P.C.; Lauri A. Damrell of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP; Sharon E. Jones of Jones Diversity, Inc.; Susan L. Lees of Allstate Insurance Company; Elizabeth A. Levy; Suzan A. Miller of Intel Corporation; Leslie D. Minier of Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP; Sheila M. Murphy of MetLife, Inc.; and Sandra S. Yamate of The Institute for Inclusion in the Legal Profession.

NAWL would like to acknowledge the following departing Board members for their tireless service and dedication to the organization: Marsha L. Anastasia of Pitney Bowes Inc. (NAWL President 2015-2016) and Carol A. Robles-Román of Legal Momentum.

# # #

The mission of the National Association of Women Lawyers is to provide leadership, a collective voice, and essential resources to advance women in the legal profession and advocate for the equality of women under the law. Since 1899, NAWL has been empowering women in the legal profession, cultivating a diverse membership dedicated to equality, mutual support, and collective success. If you are not already a member, please considering joining. NAWL welcomes the membership of individual attorneys, including private practice, corporate, academic, government and non-profit attorneys, and groups, including law firms, corporate legal departments, law schools, and bar associations. Learn more at www.nawl.org.